Flautissimo Flute Club


The Flautissimo Flute Club (FFC) is a student run organization for UTRGV students and Rio Grande Valley flute enthusiasts whose mission is promote and increase knowledge of the flute, its performance, and its teaching.  Since 2008, FFC has sponsored club trips to the National Flute Association Convention (2015, 2014, 2013, 2010) and the Texas Flute Festival (2012, 2009).


The organization sponsors the annual South Texas Flute & Clarinet Festival and has brought renowned guest artists to the UTRGV Brownsville campus for master classes and recitals. Our recent and upcoming guests include:


  • Jim Walker, USC, Former Principal Flute, LA Philharmonic (2016)

  • Alex Still, Oberlin Conservatory, Professor of Flute (2015, 2012)

  • Denis Bouriakov, Principal Flute, MET Opera Orchestra, (2015) (Photo)

  • Carol Wincenc, Juilliard School, Professor of Flute (2015, 2012)

  • Bonita Boyd, Eastman School of Music, Professor of Flute (2015, 2011)

  • Marianne Gedigian, University of Texas-Austin, Professor of Flute (2014)

  • Leone Buyse, Rice University, Former Principal Flute, Boston Symphony (2013)

  • Patricia George, Editor Flute Talk Magazine, (2013)

  • Imani Winds, Grammy Award Winning Woodwind Quintet, New York (2012)

  • PROJECT Trio with Greg Pattillo (2011)

  • Dr. Katherine Kemler, Louisiana State University, Professor of Flute (2011)


© 2014 by Cristina Ballatori. All rights reserved.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook